Little Love Notes #4

I love that I exercise.

My whole life, I believed I was nonathletic. I never did very well in gym class – dreaded those horrid physical fitness tests.

What I’ve come to learn is that there is a kind of exercise for me. In fact, there is even more than one!

I love to do yoga. I love the way those stretches feel. I love the way my confidence rises higher and higher as I hold a pose … and as I am able to get deeper into a pose over time. I love the awareness of my body that yoga brings. I love the non-competitive atmosphere of my yoga studio. I love how yoga has taught me to use and lengthen my breath.

I also love to do Pilates. I love the feeling of strength building over time. It, too, brings a confidence that makes me feel like I am thriving. And I love the way it makes me breathe. Even if all I do is stretch during a Pilates session, at the end of it, I feel taller, more vibrant, more alive.

I even love to get on the elliptical from time to time. I have to admit that I don’t even mind sweating! It feels good to use up all that energy!

Most of all, I love to dance. I always have. I took my first dance class at age 5, after I saw Annie, and absolutely had to learn how to tap dance 🙂 I still love to tap! I also love ballroom (if only my husband enjoyed dancing, too!). But really, almost any kind of dance will do. And it was dance that made me realize how much I actually do love to exercise. I started dancing almost 3 years ago, almost every night after my kids go to bed. Sometimes I don’t want to, but I do it anyway. And then it can be hard to stop!

Tonight was one of those nights when I didn’t feel like exercising. I was tired. I was cranky. I was frustrated. (All good reasons to exercise!) I wasn’t going to do it. Even got into my comfy jammies. But then I realized what I’d eaten today, and thought, okay. Just 30 minutes on the elliptical can make a big difference. And now I hardly care about the calories I burned. I just feel better. All that tired, cranky, frustrated stuff seems to have burned off right along with the calories.

Leave a Reply

